- What the Pass-Rate Data Actually Shows
- Which Exam We Are Talking About
- Format, Passing Mark and Delivery
- Why a Published Pass Rate Is Hard to Find
- Where Candidates Are Most Likely to Struggle
- Allocating Prep Time Across the Eight Modules
- Prerequisites, Training and Who Hires for This Credential
- Renewal and What Passing Commits You To
- How to Evaluate Pass-Rate Claims You Find Elsewhere
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Mile2 does not publicly disclose a candidate pass rate for the C)ISMS Lead Auditor exam in the reviewed official materials.
- The Lead Auditor exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, roughly two hours, and a 70% minimum score.
- Any specific percentage you see online for this exam should be treated as unverified unless it cites Mile2 directly.
- The eight preparation modules are unweighted, so prepare evenly rather than betting on one domain.
What the Pass-Rate Data Actually Shows
Candidates searching for a pass rate usually want a single reassuring figure. For the Certified Information Security Management Systems: Lead Auditor/Lead Implementer credential, issued by Mile2, that figure does not exist in the public record we reviewed. The issuer's course outline, its linked PDF outline and its certification renewal policy describe the exam's structure, but none of them state what share of candidates pass.
That is the honest headline of this article: the data shows no official pass rate, and anyone quoting a precise number without a Mile2 citation is guessing. What the public materials do give us is a clear picture of the exam's design, and from the design we can reason about difficulty without inventing statistics.
If you want the broader difficulty picture rather than a statistic, our guide on how hard the C)ISMS exam is walks through the qualitative factors in more depth.
Which Exam We Are Talking About
The C)ISMS name on Mile2's site covers a combined Lead Auditor/Lead Implementer course page. The verified numerical specifications, however, apply only to the Lead Auditor exam (C)ISMS-LA). The current-linked outline explicitly prepares candidates for that examination and frames its ISO/IEC 27001 audit methodology around four phases: planning, control evaluation, substantive testing and completion.
This matters for pass-rate discussions in two ways:
- The Lead Implementer exam's specifications require separate confirmation. The combined URL does not establish that the two exams share the same question count, duration, passing score or content.
- A pass rate for one exam cannot be borrowed for the other. Even if a Lead Implementer figure surfaced, it would say nothing reliable about the Lead Auditor exam.
If you are still orienting yourself on the credential itself, start with what the C)ISMS certification is before digging into exam statistics.
Format, Passing Mark and Delivery
Here is what the issuer's outline does state for the Lead Auditor exam, and what it leaves unstated:
| Attribute | Lead Auditor Exam | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Question count | 100 multiple-choice questions | Stated by issuer |
| Duration | Approximately two hours | Stated by issuer |
| Minimum score | 70% | Stated by issuer |
| Delivery | Online via the Mile2 Learning Management System | Stated by issuer |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not stated | Unverified |
| Candidate pass rate | Not publicly disclosed | Unverified |
| Open-book, calculator, adaptive, proctoring rules | Not confirmed | Unverified |
| Exam-only fee and member/nonmember split | Not confirmed | Unverified |
| Formal 2026 exam version | Not confirmed | Unverified |
Two details deserve emphasis. First, the 70% threshold on 100 questions means roughly seven in ten answers must be correct, but because the scored/pretest split is not stated, you should not assume every one of the 100 items counts toward your result. Second, the outline references ISO/IEC 27001:2022, which tells you which standard version your studying should be anchored to, even though a formal 2026 exam version has not been verified.
For a deeper look at the threshold itself, see our breakdown of the C)ISMS passing score, and for scheduling logistics check C)ISMS exam dates and testing windows.
Why a Published Pass Rate Is Hard to Find
It is common for certification bodies, particularly smaller or training-company-affiliated ones, to keep pass statistics internal. There are several plausible reasons, though Mile2 has not stated its own:
- Candidate mix varies. The FAQ states that purchasing the course is unnecessary to buy the certification exam, so the population includes both course graduates and self-study candidates. A blended rate would obscure more than it reveals.
- Online, on-demand delivery. With testing through the Mile2 LMS rather than fixed-date testing centers, there are no neat annual cohorts to report on.
- Retake behavior. A raw pass rate can mix first attempts with retakes, which makes it a poor predictor of any individual's odds.
Where Candidates Are Most Likely to Struggle
Without a published pass rate or score breakdown, we cannot say which domains cause the most failures. What we can do is look at the eight course modules Mile2 lists and identify where the content demands a different kind of thinking than a typical security fundamentals exam. These are the unweighted preparation headings, not an official weighted blueprint, so the observations below are editorial judgments about difficulty, not statements about scoring weight.
The Audit-Mindset Domains (6, 7 and 8)
Audits and Auditors, Auditing the Information Security Management System, and Planning and Conducting an Audit shift you from implementing controls to evaluating evidence. Candidates with strong technical backgrounds sometimes find the procedural framing unfamiliar.
- Know the issuer's four-phase methodology: planning, control evaluation, substantive testing and completion
- Be able to distinguish what an auditor does from what an implementer does in the same scenario
- Expect scenario questions where the correct answer reflects audit independence and evidence, not the quickest technical fix
The Standard-Specific Domain (Domain 2)
The ISO/27001:2022 module rewards precision. Exam items built on a standard tend to test whether you can recall how clauses and controls are organized and how the 2022 revision differs in framing from its predecessor.
- Anchor your study to the 2022 version, since that is what the outline references
- Be careful with older study material that describes previous control structures
The Risk Pair (Domains 4 and 5)
Risk Management and Risk Treatment are easy to blur together. Questions often hinge on whether a scenario describes identification and assessment or the selection of a treatment option.
- Separate the assessment activities from the treatment decisions in your notes
- Practice recognizing which stage a scenario sits in before choosing an answer
For a domain-by-domain walkthrough of all eight areas, see our complete guide to the C)ISMS exam content areas.
Allocating Prep Time Across the Eight Modules
Because official weights and the largest domain remain unverified, any allocation is editorial. A sensible default is to treat the eight modules as roughly balanced while front-loading the ones that everything else depends on. The sequence below is one way to sequence the work, tied to how the modules build on each other.
Foundations
- Domain 1: Lead Auditor Intro
- Domain 2: The ISO/27001:2022, since later modules reference its structure
Controls and Risk
- Domain 3: Information Security and Key Controls
- Domain 4: Risk Management
- Domain 5: Risk Treatment
The Audit Itself
- Domain 6: Audits and Auditors
- Domain 7: Auditing the Information Security Management System
- Domain 8: Planning and Conducting an Audit
Integration
- Timed runs of 100 questions in roughly two hours to match the real pacing
- Review misses against the matching module, especially the audit-process domains
The timed practice in week four matters because 100 questions in about two hours leaves little room to linger. You can build that pacing with the C)ISMS practice tests, and our C)ISMS study guide expands on how to structure the weeks around your own background.
Prerequisites, Training and Who Hires for This Credential
The outline suggests an information-systems background and an interest in auditing, but these are not verified as mandatory prerequisites. Exact requirements for degrees, work hours, training and references have not been confirmed, so check Mile2's current page before committing. For a fuller treatment, see C)ISMS requirements and eligibility.
A few distinctions help avoid confusion:
- Course versus exam. The course is a three-day training carrying 24 CEUs. Those are training values, not exam duration or domain weights.
- Exam-only path. Per the FAQ, you do not need to buy the course to purchase the certification exam. Current USD exam-only pricing is not verified here; see C)ISMS certification cost for pricing context.
On the employment side, the credential's Lead Auditor orientation points toward roles where ISO/IEC 27001 conformance is assessed: internal audit teams, information security and compliance functions, GRC practices, and consultancies that prepare organizations for ISMS certification audits. We do not cite salary or demand figures, since none are verified for this credential. Explore the career angle in C)ISMS jobs and weigh the return in whether the certification is worth it.
Renewal and What Passing Commits You To
A pass is not the end of the process. Under the current dedicated renewal policy, the certification runs for three years, and renewal requires 60 qualifying CEUs, agreement to the policies and ethics terms, and payment of the applicable renewal fee. The amount of that fee has not been verified.
Key Takeaway
Older Mile2 course PDFs contain different recertification wording, referencing a current-exam retake and 20 CEUs per year. Follow the dedicated renewal policy page rather than the legacy PDF text, and do not assume both requirements apply together.
Planning for the CEU requirement early is practical: audit-related training, conferences and professional activity are the kinds of things candidates typically track, though you should confirm what Mile2 counts as qualifying before relying on any specific activity.
How to Evaluate Pass-Rate Claims You Find Elsewhere
Since the official number is absent, you will encounter substitutes. Use this checklist before trusting any of them:
- Does it name the certifying body? If the source does not say Mile2 and Lead Auditor specifically, it may be describing a different credential that shares the abbreviation.
- Does it cite a primary source? A link to Mile2's outline or policy pages is meaningful; an unattributed percentage is not.
- Does it state a sample and timeframe? A figure with neither is not a statistic.
- Does it conflate exams? Lead Auditor and Lead Implementer specifications are not confirmed to match.
If you need the clearest picture of what the abbreviation refers to, our explainers on what C)ISMS stands for and what C)ISMS is clarify the identity before you evaluate any data. For a compact review of the facts that are verified, the C)ISMS cheat sheet collects them on one page. You can also revisit the topic of this article anytime at our C)ISMS pass rate page.
Frequently Asked Questions
Mile2 does not publicly disclose a candidate pass rate in the reviewed official materials. Any specific percentage you see elsewhere should be treated as unverified unless it cites Mile2 directly.
The issuer's outline states a minimum grade of 70% on the Lead Auditor exam, which consists of 100 multiple-choice questions over approximately two hours. How the scored and unscored items are split is not stated.
The reviewed materials state that testing is online through the Mile2 Learning Management System. Whether proctoring, open-book access or calculator use is permitted has not been verified, so confirm those conditions with Mile2 before test day.
No. The verified numerical specifications apply only to Lead Auditor. The combined course URL does not establish that the Lead Implementer exam shares the same format, passing score or content, so those details need separate confirmation.
Under the current renewal policy, certification is valid for three years. Renewal calls for 60 qualifying CEUs, agreement to the policies and ethics terms, and payment of the applicable renewal fee, whose amount has not been verified.